Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Frost, a Gate and the Crescent Moon

After any period of predominantly cloudy weather I always look for the first opportunity to get out in time for a possible sunrise.  While we didn't get any fireworks, we did at least get some early colour and the sky was further enhanced by a crescent moon.

It was great to be out, albeit it was freezing and my fingers were protesting after a short while outdoors (despite wearing gloves).  At least the ground was firm underfoot.

The last few days, away in Liverpool I travelled light and for the first time made a concerted effort to adopt a true mobile philosophy to my workflow. So instead of a laptop I was using the apps available from Nikon (Snapbridge) and Sony (Playmemories) to transfer images on to an iPad for processing and uploading.  Some early mistakes, you can't upload raw files, were soon overcome and even then there was a work around I'd never used before of processing the Nikon NEF file in camera to create a jpeg for transfer.

I found the experience quite liberating after getting used to the idiosyncrasies of the apps, swapping from bluetooth to wi-fi during the process and having to use alternative editing tools.  Perhaps not my ideal approach, but certainly workable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.