Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Early Sunlight, Chasewater

I'd some errands to run but still made time to head over to Chasewater Reservoir first thing, hoping to catch a sunrise.  Unfortunately, a thick blank of cloud was over to the east.  While I hadn't intended to, the new challenge encouraged me to do a loop of the reservoir and it was as I reached the western edge that the sun made the briefest of appearances.  

I can normally get down below these rocks onto a sandy spit, but the water levels are as high as I can remember, so I was relegated to the path running along the railway line.  I needed every millimetre of the 14-30 mm lens to include the rocks, which were being illuminated by the sun's rays.  Before you knew it the clouds had blocked the sun again and it barely made another appearance during the walk.  

I was surprised to see smoke rising from the railway station later in the walk, even more to see a gaggle of photographers, resplendent in orange tabards congregating around the steam engine.  I wasn't as well equipped but still took a sneaky shot (see extra) from the footpath that crosses the line.

Day total: 4.2 miles

Year total: 8.37 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.