Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lunchtime Stop

I've often bemoaned the lack of seating along the towpaths of our local canal network.  My darling wife bought me a collapsible stool for Christmas and this was my first opportunity to use it.

I caught two trains out to the town of Atherstone in Warwickshire, where I used to work in the early 1980's.  From there I started walking along the Coventry Canal, through Tamworth, finally reaching my goal of Lichfield.  This was my lunch time stop in glorious sunshine, just outside Mile Oak.  What galled me a little later was coming upon a bench near Hopwas Wood.  Someone was really taking the Mick as it even had a plaque on it, inscribed with 'Graham's Bench' (see extra)!

Still it was a great walk and has definitely put me ahead of the average pace for the 1,000 mile walk challenge.

Day total: 18.44 miles

Year total: 26.91 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.