Winter Branches

Bare trees against the sky seem to be the perfect image of winter. This tree hung over my car as I pulled into a parking spot in the Whole Foods parking lot. I was struck by the the prickly seed pods highlighted against the blue, but very chilly sky.

I wish I had thought to take a picture of Ronnie, a very tall boxer (or maybe ex boxer) who is now teaching at the Pilates studio. He was substituting for Amanda, a petite dancer with a flair for flowing movement. The contrast couldn't have been greater, but I enjoyed Ronnie's class which was perfect for the first day back, filled with resolve,  after too much food and drink and too many skipped classes. When I thanked him for a good class he told me he really liked teaching women because they listened to him!

On to the dentist. Why on earth did I agree to a dental appointment on the second day of the new year? It isn't a good sign when the hygienist says "oh crap" while she's cleaning my teeth. I had told her I had a rough spot on a tooth the dentist filled six months ago, and sure enough, there was my filling on the end of her little pick. The dentist told me I would eventually need a new crown but I was hoping 'eventually' might just somehow turn into 'never'. It seems to have been the opposite. I certainly said "oh crap" when I saw the estimate for a new crown!

I am still writing this on my phone because my computer is on it's last legs. What a choice...new computer or new crown? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.