On the tenth day of Christmas...

My true love gave to me,
Ten lights a-glowing,
Nine Hellebores blooming,
Eight sparklers a-sparkling,
Seven glasses a-chinking,
Six presents for opening,
Five gol-den rings,
Four carousel gallopers,
Three festive revellers,
Two Mummers Players ( x 1000 = 2000 Mummers Players!)
And a fluffy cat sitting by a Christmas tree!


An even colder day, only 3 degrees, and a day tinged with sadness as we said goodbye to an old family friend. Margaret was a larger than life character, always full of laughter and life. She would’ve loved these jolly Christmas lights, snapped on the way home from the wake. The following poem was read at the service, it sums up Margaret perfectly...


“Afterglow” by Helen Lowrie Marshall

I’d like the memory of me to be a happy one.
I’d like to leave an afterglow of smiles when life is done.
I’d like to leave an echo whispering softly down the ways,
Of happy times and laughing times and bright and sunny days.
I’d like the tears of those who grieve, to dry before the sun;
Of happy memories that I leave when life is done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.