WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Down on The Farm

I haven't got into this blipfoto thing yet - so I forgot about blipping today! However we had a day out to a petting farm with family and friends and I took lots of photos. The Grandchildren and their wee friend had a great time learning about all the animals - some of which were not actually farm animals - like the two tortoises Heidi and Bella. The small one is 59 years old and the bigger one is 8 years old. We learnt that a rat's tail has 3 important functions 
1 Climbing/Balance 
2 Sweating as it is the only part without hair
3 Water storage they can last longer without fresh water than a camel!
It was good for the kids to get close to the animals and learn about them. 
I'm not normally keen on visiting farms as being a vegan it upsets me to think of the animals ending up on a plate but I think it is important for children to know the origins of the meal on their table.
We had a fun yet educational day - the kids went in a play area with big slides and we all went on pedal go karts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.