hpx

By hpx

On the bus

I'm safely holed up in my 'cell' (read hotel room) in Wellington. My day was busy and I didn't have time to think of blipping until I got to the airport.

After checking in (Air New Zealand's self-check in at Christchurch airport is the best thing about Christchurch airport), I wandered outside to see what I could see. I took a few shots of the city council's 'summer' banners snapping in the less-than-summery southerly. What has happened to summer?!

Here comes my rant for the day. Christchurch Airport is a disgrace. It's a never ending building site and in 2 or more years, nothing has improved. The place is a dump. I guess my rates contribute to it but I can't see where. (There, now I feel better ;-)

Unusually for me I turned down 'free' wine on the flight. I figured I was tired and a flight from Christchurch to Wellington on a Boeing 737 is so quick, I'd have literally been sculling my sauvignon blanc. And we can't have that.

I took the bus into the CBD. Why not? One was about to leave, it was early evening so traffic wasn't a problem, I could easily handle my luggage and only a 2-3 minute walk from the bus stop to my hotel. And, it was so much more interesting, with interesting people to watch, a wee tiki-tour (but still a quick trip to town) and a 'bus only' tunnel through the side of a hill. Perfect.

I liked this shot the best. It is looking into the distance, straining to see what's next around the bend. All trips (even work related ones) are full of the promise and new experiences.

Tomorrow is a long work shop day. If I get a decent long shut-eye I can have an early exploratory run tomorrow.

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.