An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Ne'reday Walk...

Backblipped 04.01.19


Well it's quite clear now that Agnes and Adrian are the bad influence at Hogmanay as this year we were in bed by 2am!  Normally it's 3am at the earliest.

We had a lovely evening although we did miss their company.  No games played although we did have a laugh with silly face cards.

Alan had a great Hogmanay too.  Once again he went to the Carnival at the SECC in Glasgow then to George Square to see the lights and soak up some atmosphere, then home in time for the bells.  

And so we were all up bright and breezy for the crack of midmorning!  The tradition started a couple of years ago was the gang would all go for a bracing walk to Gleneagles and back whilst I made the breakfast, but this year it was tweaked a bit in that due to hunger levels, the cooked breakfast was eaten before the walk, and instead of walking to Gleneagles, the took Lola on her usual morning romp on Gleneagles moor.

Andrew, Nikki, little Esme and my niece Jennifer were arriving mid afternoon so I took the chance to rest and then get changed and make myself presentable.

When they arrived, Andrew, Ele, Jen and Esme went in the pool for a little while.  Esme loved it again.  Sadly Nikki's mum wasn't able to come as she's not well.  This festive season has been a real corker for bugs and people being ill.  

After dinner Andrew, Nikki and Esme joined Lola on their evening walk around the block.  I got lovely cuddles from Esme when they returned, her little body all cosy from being snuggled in her pram and her little chubby cheeks cool from being in the fresh air.  She really is a little sweetheart and every time I see Andrew with her, my heart swells.  I can't believe what a loving and instinctive dad he is.  So proud of him.

Andrew, Nikki and Esme left around 9pm.  Ele, Kenny, Jennifer, David and I ended up paying Radio 2's Popmaster Quiz (I bought the book.)  Ele was Ken Bruce and Kenny, David, Jen and I downloaded a buzzer app to our phones so we could each buzz in with different buzzer sounds to answer the questions.  I swear I thought I was going to die laughing as we all chose our buzzer sounds!

Oh and I was in the lead all the way through the quiz (14 points to David's 5, Jennifer's 4 and Kenny's 0) when David had a coffee, which fired up his brain cells and he beat me 15/14!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.