NellieD

By NellieD

On guard!

'A Couplet' is a sculpture by Hsiao-Chi Tsai (of Taiwan) and Kimiya Yoshikawa (of Japan). It was commissioned as part of the Irwell Sculpture Trail and the Manchester Asia Triennial.

The website says:
A Couplet marks the entrance of Bury Sculpture Centre. It is made from brightly coloured aluminium and stainless steel, contrasting with the stone building surrounding it and is inspired by the historical identity of the town, taking elements from its industrial past; forged iron, paper (papyrus tree), wool, cotton, the weaving industry, to create abstract elements. 

Traditionally, in Asia you will often find a pair of guardianship statues or paintings outside the entrance doorways of public buildings, such as pairs of lions, angels, or even intimidating warriors, as symbols to bring good fortune and prosperity and also prevent bad luck. A Couplet acts as a welcoming symbol to greet people to Bury Sculpture Centre and also as an intriguing attraction to entice more visitors.

There is another sculpture to the right of the main door but I couldn't get them both in the picture with all the parked cars. Maybe next time!

I was given a Waterstones voucher for my birthday by a very lovely lady at book club. Buying a full price book for me is a real treat - I read a lot so generally use the library and charity shops or I would be bankrupt! I bought 'The Digital Photography Handbook' by Doug Harman as it might give me some extra tips and help me to get off the auto button. 

In other news, my friend in Australia asked if she could use one of my bee photos to promote the siting of her new bee hives! The first time my photo has been used with my name in the credit. I have added it as an extra, even though I didn't take it today.

Quote for today:
I walk, I look, I see, I stop, I photograph.
- Leon Levinstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.