NellieD

By NellieD

Alice Nutter

The husband, my cough and I went to Boundary Mill at Colne and I spent rather a lot! Mind you, my premium bonds came up 3 times this month so I treated myself to a coat with the winnings - I don't want to freeze when I go to Iceland!

I managed to get the husband to do a detour back to the motorway so I could take a photo of the statue of Alice Nutter. He's getting the hang of Blip now!

To commemorate the 400th anniversary of the infamous Pendle witch trials, one of the best known – Alice Nutter – was immortalised as a statue in Roughlee village from where she came.

She was accused of being present at a witches meeting on Good Friday in 1612 and of later causing the death of Henry Milton. Her principal accuser was a nine year old girl. Nutter protested her innocence although others pleaded guilty.

Alice was unusual amongst the accused in that she was comparatively wealthy, the widow of a tenant yeoman farmer. She made no statement either before or during her trial, except to enter her plea of not guilty to the charge of murder.

Nutter was tried at Lancaster Castle where the accused were denied access to lawyers or the right of calling witnesses. She was hanged later at Gallows Hill in Lancaster on 20 August 1612. The others hanged were Anne Whittle ("Old Chattox"), Ann Redfearn, Elizabeth Device ("Squinting Lizzie"), Alison Device, James Device, Katherine Hewitt, Jane Bulcock, John Bulcock and Isobel Robey.

Alice Nutter also exists as a character in Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's novel "Good Omens".

Quote for today:
There is no real power gained by harming others.
- How to Hang a Watch by Adriana Mather

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.