Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Nobbys and Newie Harbour

I have wanted to get this Newie harbour view from the drone but on initial checking thought it was a no fly zone.  Just past Nobbys on further checking the official drone app of fly zones it turns out it is a go fly area.  Hooray.  So this morning when I woke at dawn I thought I would try it out.  This is a three image (really two and a half after cropping) pano.  I was getting a high wind warning, signal warning and had difficulties seeing the drone so didn't keep it up too long.  You have to keep an eye out for the pilot helicopters in that area too.  Still I am reasonably happy with the shot and might even try again when the conditions are suitable.

This shows to the far left Newie baths, Fort Scratchley, the city, the Celebrity Solstice in port, Newie harbour, Stocko (you can see why we say we are going overseas there) and Nobbys headland of course with the breakwall.

I will be sitting in air conditioning for the rest of today - it is already 34C and it's only 10 am.  We do have our Delta Christmas party this evening I will have to go to however I hope the storms will be on their way by then and things will have cooled off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.