my Dad and the politics of hate

Another year gone; the years seem to fly past now.  Blip reinforces that.  An entry I thought I’d posted sometime last year turns out to be over 4 years old.  

Someone who never got to worry about time slipping away was my father.  He died 50 years ago today.  He was a good man - he described himself as a liberal and a humanist.  He had no time for prejudice of any sort.  I shudder to think what he would make of the state of the world now - especially the resurgence of the politics of hate.  

Back in 1939, he didn’t wait to be called up - he volunteered straight away because he thought it the right thing to do.  He survived the war, but it eventually took its toll on his health and he died far too young.  

As a schoolboy I was always making model aeroplanes.  At one time I thought about joining the RAF, as he had done.  He was not happy about it.  He said that he had signed up so that I - and others like me - would never have to. 

I thank him - and all the other Dads - for saving my future.  But with all the heroes gone, who will save our children's future from the politics of hate?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.