NellieD

By NellieD

Gal Pit, with the gals

I went back to the park to blip the dereliction I saw yesterday. This time, however, two of my very wonderful friends from book club joined me (one being a fellow blipper). It was much nicer to have the company and we covered quite a lot of ground in two hours - and topics of conversations too!

The park is home to the industrial remains of the Wet Earth Colliery which was established in 1740, one of the first deep mines to be sunk in the Irwell Valley.  Compared to most pits, it had a very long working life, from 1750 through to 1928 - almost 180 years.

Gal Pit derives its names from the Galloway ponies which were used extensively in mines and there is a sculpture of the horse gin/engine at the side of it which I may blip another day - although it may not include blipper Lisalou104 on its back!

For many years, Gal Pit was used for extracting coal, as an access for the mine workers and to pump out flood water. 

We ending up having a coffee at the end of the walk - but no cake. I spotted someone wearing a crocheted scarf in the queue so I told her how lovely it was - and she's now signed up as a member of my group. I will recruit anyone, anywhere :). 

Quote for today:
Friends bring out the beautiful things in each other that no-one else looks hard enough to find.
- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.