Mowgli Birmingham

Not the most satisfying starts to the working new year as I arrived at the station to find my train to Birmingham had been cancelled. I suppose, in a way, the fact of there being a rail replacement bus laid on counts as a bonus, with the alternative being no rail replacement bus. So that got me to Crewe, once the driver finally realised his sat nav was playing stupid games and had taken us the very long way round.

Then to Stafford and then to Birmingham.

I know there is lots of choice in Birmingham, and I’m staying in the middle of Chinatown, but it kind of had to be Mowgli. Anyway, I like this one.

Nice bit of karma to soften the pain of the journey down when I checked into the hotel and they told me they choose one room every day as “room of the day” and mine was the chosen one. That gets me free breakfast and a free drink at the bar, they said.

So I handed in my voucher in return for a pint this evening. “Hang onto that, mate” says the bar person. “That gets you two drinks”.

It’s a small victory, but I’ll take it, as I sip at my second free beer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.