Goldfinch

Back blipped on Monday

I spent most of the daylight hours yesterday sitting in the garden room, feeling very sorry for myself, with a tummy bug.  The only good part about it was the opportunity to see and enjoy the birds on the feeders.  

There were no rarities, but lots of tits, chaffinch, goldfinch (it's the first time I've seen any on our feeders, though W says he's seen them before), a robin, starlings, blackbirds, crows, magpies and on one occasion a jay.  It was interesting seeing the different ways that they fed at the seeds - the tits would flit in, grab, and fly off again - never any chance to catch a photo.  The goldfinch, however, stayed on the feeder for quite a while - with tits queuing for their turn.

Once it got dark, I retreated to bed.

I'm feeling better today, though I now have a headache.  Since I ate nothing, and drank little, I suspect I'm a bit dehydrated.  I've managed a cup of tea and some orange juice this morning with no ill effects - hopefully it was just a 24hr bug.  

But I'm feeling very guilty - I'm supposed to be at work today, starting my very last week, and I've had to ring in sick, leaving them short on the evening shift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.