NellieD

By NellieD

Surprise!

Day 2 of Operation Job Search and I made sure I was on top of my personal pension and the current gap in my National Insurance, something I've been meaning to look at for weeks. With 30 years full contributions, I only have another 21 years until I hit state retirement age in 2039. Now that's something cheery to think about!!
 
The husband rang and said he had a surprise for me. Not an SLR camera, I asked? Turns out his friend who runs the golf pro shop has lent me his Nikon so I can try it out to see if I really want to buy one. 

I hate surprises - especially when someone says they have a surprise for you and you have to wait all day to find out what it is - but I'm also a really great guesser :). We've been together 23 years and he says I can always tell exactly what he's thinking - or that I know when he's had a sneaky peak at the dictionary when we're playing Scrabble.

EDIT: I posted this on my Facebook page and it's funny how many put a word in the gap and how many felt the sentence was complete as it was. I fell into the latter camp.

Quote for today:
I don't really like surprises. Not big ones anyway.
Just having a pack of Revels holds enough of a surprise for me.
- Karl Pilkington

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.