But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Bell Push.

I can’t remember the when, why and wherefore of selecting our internet provider, but Jnr swears that he warned me not to sign up with them. While his memory is fallible, it is less so than mine, so I won’t argue. We have always had problems with the provider over continuity and speed of service and they have sent out a repair man on numerous occasions. Some years ago, I cancelled their service, gave our business to a competitor, and saw a marked improvement – until the original company bought its replacement’s contracts for Roslin. Complaints have been made about the lack of service on a near daily basis since before Christmas resulting in an appointment for another repair man to pay us a visit this morning.
 
I don’t know what it is about my relationship with domestic technical appliances; I did, after all earn my living for 45 years working on equipment so technical that my supervisors had absolutely no idea what I was doing. Yesterday, the wireless door bell had a strop and ceased functioning at a time when I literally couldn’t afford to not know when the repair man called – the missed appointment fee is extortionate so, I put fresh batteries in the bell push and each of the three chimes. This basic maintenance didn’t improve the functionality but the higher voltage from the new batteries did upset one particular chime so that it spontaneously triggered several times during the night. This morning, quite by chance, my hand fell upon a non-functioning bell push that no one had thought to throw out - and lo – the recalcitrant chime chimed. The Blip is of said bell push along with a note in case it changed its mind.
 
The young lad duly arrived, replaced a wire and a few fittings, asked me to sign a virtual document on his mobile phone and left saying, “You shouldn’t have any more problems, Sir.” Ten minutes later the internet dropped out and wouldn't return until I’d phoned with another complaint. Apparently, their experts, as a matter of routine, continue to work on improving the service we receive for ten days following a visit from an engineer. ENGINEER? He’s a bloody repair man and I don’t believe a word of what I hear from their customer relations department.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.