But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Camera Club Display.

I had a meeting with the Trust’s treasurer this morning; this followed on from the meeting between said treasurer and the independent auditor, a lady not to be messed with. While I appreciate that it is her job to be pedantic, she is creating a few problems. She wants both the café and the cinema to have two people count the takings and sign a record before any money leaves the hall. The reality is that the volunteers are rushed off their feet at the end: washing up, tidying and putting away while the caretaker is wanting (quite rightly) to go home.
 
The other main issue is that I take the cinema takings home and, after Mrs TD has re-counted the money and signed the record, I pocket the takings. I then pay the bills and put the remainder into the cinema bank account by internet banking from my personal account; the charitable trust’s accounts only allow payments to be made by an archaic system known as writing cheques which need to be signed by two people. With local bank branches closing as though they’re going out of fashion, and cheques become unpopular, my system has been working satisfactorily for several years with my honesty being checked by the previous treasurer and auditor. While we are trying to negotiate compromises, we are also showing willing by adopting some of the auditor’s less contentious suggestions. This tale has all the signs of becoming a saga.
 
After the business was completed, I wandered past a local charity shop to look at the camera club display in their window. The shop are being very helpful, giving us a lot of publicity, selling the prints and running a competition. While I was standing there a blind lady asked me what she was looking at(?), and a couple started chatting to me about the club, the pictures and whether any of them were mine. I haven’t done any prints but, just as they asked, one of my digital images popped up on the computer screens so my honour was satisfied. The lady in the Blip didn’t talk to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.