But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Cladonia.

I revisited the apiary today to tidy up and check the weights of the hives. My scales seem to be a bit erratic so I put in new batteries, but that was the only thing that didn’t affect the measurements. Anyway, I logged the results as accurately as I could, they will, at least, show up any gross problems.
 
I moved on to trying to Blip some of the wonderful lichens around the place but I found the backgrounds difficult to manage. My attempts were curtailed by the arrival of one of the estate rangers; he was very friendly but wanted to know who I was and why my car wasn’t parked in the official car park. Once I had pointed out the hives he became interested, he fancies taking up the noble art himself and started discussing the problems of keeping bees at his house in the other walled garden, the one that’s in a frost pocket. The outcomes of the discussion are that he understands why I want to park the car close to the bees but, since I would be setting an example to less responsible members of the public, would I try not to do it too often. He then explained to me where I could go to get some spectacular photographs and assured me that, provided I kept out of people's gardens and didn’t let Merlin chase any sheep (I don’t’ think the old boy is capable of it), I could just about roam at will.
 
I’ve been reluctant to take chances on that front as I would hate to lose the privilege of keeping bees there but, I think I’ll have to take him at his word and do some exploring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.