The Big Spit

I’ve always wanted to do a spit roast but a bit afraid to. Everyone with any experience of them seems to say the meat is great but it takes far longer than expected to cook.

So when the Rotary club asked to hold their first meeting of the year at the farm I suggested we have one.
I felt it was a bit of a captive audience and I wouldn’t be totally responsible.

After a couple of hurdles at the start (couldn’t light it and then it went out after 10 minutes) it was a great success.
The meat was delicious and we were serving at 6:08 for a planned 6 o’clock start.
On the spit (free hire from our local butcher if you buy $100 worth of meat) we had lamb, pork and beef and it was the right amount to serve 44.
Most people brought a salad or dessert so my main task was the logistics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.