A bit battered and rusty

Not surprising as it has spent a long time in water. 

Last week I heard that sound you really don’t want to hear – the washing machine clanking. You immediately panic that there is something seriously wrong. Well, I panic anyway. I think I could manage without most appliances if I had to, but not the washing machine. 

The machine continued wash cycles without a problem, just every so often during the cycle there would be this clanking sound. There was nothing in the drum and it didn’t seem to be the dreaded bearings, but there was definitely something wrong. So, then there is the dilemma – it’s nearly five years old, but it is a Bosch so should last longer than that. However, I know the cost of repair callouts and have to weigh this against the cost of a new one. 

So, I’m browsing Which? to see what machines are advised and how much they cost and thinking of ringing our local white goods man from whom we buy all such machines. Meanwhile Gordon is looking on YouTube of course and eventually finds a little door at the foot of the machine. After draining off water (and getting it all over the floor!) he unscrews something that looks like a filter and out pops a 20p piece. Now I ought to do a wash and see if the problem has been solved, but as I have not been allowing washing to pile up in case of the machine breaking down, I have nothing left to wash. But surely it’s too much of a coincidence that the noise sounded just like a coin being flung around and finding a coin. I will report back. 
 
A bit of excitement on a foggy, foggy day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.