FOTOBOMBED BY FLO!

Mr. HCB thought it would be a good idea for us to go up to Jack’s for a coffee this morning, as we haven’t been up there for a while and then he said he would give me a lift to the station so that I could buy my train ticket to Melton Mowbray - more of that later.  However, I don’t quite know what happened - he said he would treat me and I ended up buying the coffee!

It was reasonably empty when we got to Jack’s, but our friend, Trevor, was pleased to see us for the first time since Christmas and the New Year, so we were able to have a good chat with him - then Margaret, another friend came in, so we had another good chat with her.  Margaret was feeling rather low this morning, as she heard last night that her younger brother had died yesterday so it was apposite that we were able to sit near her so that she could tell us about her brother.  

A few minutes later, Steve, the builder, bounded out - he never seems to walk, but almost jumps!  He had been busy putting up a new sign over the bar, so we duly admired that, but I did tell him I was concerned to see that “Jacks” had no apostrophe.  He did say there was an apostrophe on the sign on the front of the café so I guess that will have to do, and I doubt many others will even notice!

Steve was very proud of his handiwork and was telling us how he had made the sign.  He knows that I take a photograph every day so asked if I would like him to be my Blip for today.  I said I would be delighted so duly took a photograph, but he then decided that he would jump up on one of the bar chairs so that he was nearer to the sign and could “show off” his handiwork.  

Just as I was about to take the shot, Flo decided that she wanted to fotobomb it - so she is in the background - and if you think they both look rather orange or “tangoed”, it’s the lighting.  We had a great time at Jack’s especially when we were able to catch up with two other friends, Dave and Gill and then Rob came in, so it was quite a coffee party - but no cake was consumed - not by me anyway, but Margaret had her usual cinnamon whirl, which she always shares with Trevor!

Mr. HCB then gave me a lift to the station where I was able to get a good deal on a train ticket to Melton Mowbray - by going via a different station, I got a £30 reduction, so bought a Senior Railcard for the next year as mine is about to run out.  The reason I am going there is because I am being treated to a 3 day Spa Break at Ragdale Hall by my lovely friend, Sue.  We will be there for her birthday in early February, which will be great as it will be her first birthday without her husband, who died in early December.  I can’t wait!  We went there many years ago and had a fabulous time together but I need to go online and book the various treatments I would like - don’t want to get there and find all the massage appointments are booked, do I?

In other news, I have lost 7 lbs - but to say “half a stone” sounds better to me - since I started my 5:2 eating plan on 31st December, so it’s working.  I can do this!

“You can make more friends in two months 
     by becoming interested 
          in other people 
than you can in two years 
     by trying to get other people 
          interested in you.”
Dale Carnegie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.