WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY - LIGHT AND SHADOW

Sometimes, when faced with a challenge, it is easier just to think you can’t do it, leave it at that and do something else or not do anything at all.

Mr. HCB and I watched “School for Stammerers” on television last night and we were so engrossed in it that when those taking part said they couldn’t do the exercises they had been set, we were shouting at the screen and saying “Come on, you can do it!”  And of course, they did, even though it might have taken them several tries.  If you didn’t see this programme, it is worth watching on Catch-Up.

I felt the same with today’s challenge - thinking that a wide angle view of the sunrise from our bedroom window would suffice - and the Blip would be done for the day.  I have put it in as an extra - but it doesn't really fit the brief!

However, I had that nagging little thought in my brain that perhaps I “could have tried harder” - four words that appeared many times on my School Report - so I went looking for inspiration and found it, or them, sitting on the kitchen worktop.

Three little clementines and a worktop saver - I think Mr. HCB wondered whatever I was doing, but that’s nothing new, is it?  So here we have clementines - or oranges and lemon - with a bit of light and shadow thrown in - although I realise that there isn’t too much shadow - but at least I know I have tried, even if I feel I have failed to fulfil the challenge completely.

That’s often the way with life - we don’t try because we think we will fail and then berate ourselves for not even trying - how many times have you or I done that in our lives?  Probably too many to mention - so today I tried and I am happy with the result.

“Our greatest weakness 
     lies in giving up. 
The most certain way to succeed 
     is always to try 
          just one more time.”
Thomas A Edison : 1847-1931

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.