Wild Wednesday ....

I had to run some errands this morning and whilst I was out I took a slight detour to the Waterfowl Observation site that we like to go to occasionally. There are several different varieties of ducks as well as geese.  Today there were also some seagulls.  The collage in the extra shows both the seagull and a drake mallard. 

When I got home I put some peanuts out back in the hopes for more wildlife to add to my collage. It was very windy and cold outside so I didn't last long out back.  I decided to move the peanut ring feeder to the front so that I could stay indoors to get more shots.  Our front casement window has a blind set up in it so I can have the window open and the cold pretty much stays out!  And I'm somewhat hidden. 

We have positioned this suet/bark butter feeder in such a way that it's right outside the window with the blind.  I have been surprised by the variety of birds that have been coming to it.  Yesterday I saw a dark-eyed Junco on it and today this sweet little black-capped chickadee came to feed!  Luckily I was right there to capture him/her!  I shot this with the new Panasonic and I'm quite pleased with it!  I still love my Nikon but I can't remember ever getting this good of a shot of a chickadee with it!

I was also very surprised that the first thing on the peanut ring feeder was a red-breasted Nuthatch .... see extra!  I had seen a Blue Jay earlier and I hoping for one or two to come back .... but they didn't!  Also in my extra is a white-breasted Nuthatch that loves the suet/bark butter feeder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.