Flamborough fun

Here are the two lighthouses at Flamborough, the oldest one dating from 1669 and built from chalk. These days the stonework is very weathered but its stark white colouration meant it stood out plainly in all directions. It did have a large lantern too, but the seafarers could opt whether or not to pay a charge for it to be lit and of course many of them didn't ... so the owner couldn't fund the fuel required, he went bankrupt and the seamen lost their way (does this sound like a metaphor?).

The second lighthouse dates from 1806, and is still in operation.

We scanned the weather forecasts for this week and today looked OK for a gentle round of golf, my first since early November, up here at Flamborough GC. I cheated a bit by using a buggy as I don't want to push my luck; 18 holes later I felt I'd acquitted myself as well as could be expected, the knee seemed fine and I was not nearly as tired as I should be! However, we were both absolutely chilled to the bone despite multiple layers of clothing - justification for a pint next to a blazing fire (still took a long while for the warmth to penetrate).

The heating where we're staying broke down yesterday and I can tell you now that I really don't miss my youth when a cold house (other than the living room and it's fire) was the norm. This morning I got dressed under the bedclothes - haven't done that for decades! However, we've arrived back to a warm property so obviously the plumber sorted it.

Time for a glass of something I think :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.