biddy

By biddy

The last of the Poinsettia.

Today has been a raw cold kind of day.
I took my friend to the Garden Centre this afternoon. My drive to her house takes me over one of the highest points around here, Barr Beacon. Growing up with hills and fells in North Lancashire, it is not exactly of their calibre, but nevertheless affords a wide panorama on a clear day. 
It was going eerily misty and I had to use the fog lamps on the car. 
After I took her home again and began the drive back it was really foggy.
Headlights and taillights loomed out of mist. 
Nearer to home it cleared! 
  There had not been time for a blip photo so I took one of the poinsettia. It is now on it's way out. I have only ever managed to keep one until the following Christmas.
    I had thought it was dead and stuck it in the greenhouse we once had where the summerhouse is now.
     I watered it occasionally. To my astonishment it produced new leaves and flowers 12 months later. 
    Now had dinner and time to unwind.        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.