The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Before the rain

Had I been 5 minutes earlier, this would have been Red River. The scarlet colour of the morning sky was intense for a few minutes as I drove from Arnside towards Milnthorpe. I was in a bit of a hurry anyway as I was heading for a dental appointment which I have been waiting several months for. There was just time to stop, sprint back across the bridge, and snap away at the coloured River Bela as it flows through Dallam Park to join the Kent Estuary.

This was definitely a shepherd's warning morning, in Kendal there had been a dusting of snow overnight, and as I came out of the surgery feeling numb and dazed, it was just starting to spit with rain. The cloud thickened and the rain intensified as the day went on, it was nearly dark at 2 pm. On the way home, there was more water standing on the road than I have seen in many years. The rain has eased now, so let's hope Cumbria is spared floods.

So, I'm glad I stopped at Dallam for this morning shot. I didn't see the gulls drifting across the shot until I uploaded the photograph. The trees on the right in the distance featured in Life on Mars.

ps I won't be stopping blipping just yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.