Calke Abbey

Wonderful light, no pressing commitments, what better way to spend a couple of hours than at Calke Abbey, a National Trust property in Derbyshire ?

The walk around the gardens was magical. Off season, it’s quiet and peaceful. I seemed to have this stunning place to myself, relaxing, wandering, taking photos, letting my imagination run free.

Then a gardener interrupted my solitude. No problem. He was charming, rather attractive, and proud of this place. We both agreed that youngsters should be encouraged to explore and enjoy such a park.

He told me of a situation they had last summer. There’s an amazing cedar tree (extras ) on the path up from the house. One little girl decided to climb right to the top (it’s seriously tempting even for adults). She couldn’t get down and they eventually had to send for the fire brigade. My kind of adventure.....

Oh, and my blip was taken in the bird hide where I spent another lovely hour. Of course, woody came when the other (noisy) photographers had left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.