MikeWest

By MikeWest

Ice Whales

The lake ice made a whooping noise as it expanded and contracted, as if there were whales underneath calling to each other. It certainly called to me.

Although today's high was a forecast 26F, when I went out it was still 20F and cold. However, with no wind and a bit of sun, I managed a 1/2 hour. It's good to be restricted sometimes, forced to respond and make decisions quickly.

I liked the line of thicker ice leading into the frame and the rocks in the foreground enlarged by the wide angle lens anchor the shot. I feel I could have used a bit more width to include the rocks on the left outside the frame, but 18mm is all I have. Also like the reed pointing in from the bottom left - must remember to look for these things when shooting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.