MikeWest

By MikeWest

Focus on Fungi

Lovely warm tones with contrasting green moss attracted me to this little scene, along with the crinkly semi-circular shapes. Also liked the grains in the wood and pieces of bark. Even at f18, I couldn't get both bits of the fungus in focus, so I had to focus stack two images in Photoshop. Note: I think I need to do more raw adjustments in Lightroom before taking them into PS to focus stack. There's probably more data in the raw file than the resulting tiff. Not sure?

A bitterly cold day with a high of only 21F and a biting wind, I didn't want to go out, but I forced myself. Spent some time on my return researching gloves for photographers. Not sure whether the fold back finger type will work - fingers still exposed? Maybe a battery heated type would be better? Expensive though and you have to be able operate tiny buttons with gloves on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.