Motherby Well

....or, ‘it was a quality long brushed cotton nightdress, like grandma used to wear, perfect for a house with no heating’.
https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2015/may/08/cherie-blair-nightie-downing-street-thats-me-in-the-picture

Fortunately I don’t a give stuff anymore so when there was an early(ish) knock on my door I just went and answered it. Great ploy....
Man (with child in tow): ‘We’ve come to tell you the Good News...’
Me: ‘You’ve got a miraculous cure for my virus?’
Man: ‘Perhaps it’s not the best time...’
Me: ‘Perhaps not’.

I have to say it pisses me off no end....
a) what possesses someone to think it’s okay to do this?
b) what possesses someone to think it’s okay to do it with a child?
If I got in touch with safeguarding nothing would happen.
Rant over.

After listening to Joan Bakewell on iPlayer and realising I really must get round to ‘Thinking About Death’, I went to run the van to Keswick but hadn’t realised how windy it was and still feeling very rough I didn’t have the strength to keep the van safely on the road so I got some kindling from the farm shop and went for plan B.

I’ve started to believe we don’t chose the wells, they choose us (yes, I appreciate it’s just a different belief system to the one that knocked on my door this morning).

How had I not noticed this well, one of the closest to me, until today?

It may not be a holy well but it is certainly venerable and there seems to be very little known about it. The clearly very ancient wall system alongside suggests a significant and profoundly moving connection to humans (and animals) that goes beyond our modern understanding. It’s not even marked on the maps. I just think we have lost our link to it.

p.s. apologies for extreme viral grumpiness...combined with menopausal grumpiness, I really wouldn’t recommend knocking at my door and suggesting you have Good News.

Cauliflower curry - lashings of chilli, turmeric, ginger...surely that’ll do the trick...

p.p.s. This is probably my closest well. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2274994986250405822
Why should this be named after a saint and today’s isn’t? There’s so many more questions than answers...don’t you just love that?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.