and through the wire...

By hesscat

Distraction Tactics

If you've been bothered to read some of the blether that sometimes appears on this journal, you might have noticed I was fretting about online photo storage... well you'll be glad to know I did get over that, as in I made a decision to continue with flickr and also to backup everything to the cloud, but it spurred me into beginning a task I've been putting off for a rain day, when I am retired (ooh too many years to go yet :-( )...

That is... sorting out my local copy of digital photos... it's too easy just to hide them in my photo album software and not commit to deleting them FOREVER! As if I am a hoarder....whit? But my intention was to eventually delete all the duplicates or fails etc etc. I am far from a one shot pony... it can take a lot of photos to get the chosen blip!

Before Blip (B.B.) I was/we were maybe taking a few thousand photos a year but A.B (?) it unsurprisingly increased to up to 10 times that. I guess it also ties in with when Ms H went to high school and began all the selfies and screenshots of... of... just about anything... so she might have had 2000 a year. I think she has calmed down now.

Anyways, so because I am uploading all my photos automatically to the cloud, unless I begin deleting all these duff photos, it will take months and months!! Oh for fast broadband... There's no point in uploading photos I am going to delete, so the task began. It's a time consuming chore... I've deleted over 4000 so far, I reckon there could be several 10's of thousands so go. 

It'll probably take a week or so of my spare time. Ms H is off again for the next uni semester tomorrow meaning I need to return to the attic project, so subconsciously I reckon I'm looking for excuse not to? Probs... right... fingers crossed this is the last time I'll be waffling about my photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.