Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Experiments

My sister messaged me some colourful light paintings she and my brother-in-law had made using finger lights and a glass ball. She also sent a link to the technique which meant I just had to go online to buy some lights ;-) - so that will be for another day.

For today's image though, I was inspired to dig out the glass prism and have a go at trying to create a rainbow image along the lines of the classic Pink Floyd "Dark Side of the Moon" album cover... it's not as easy as you might have thought.

To create the rainbow effect I needed to aim the light source (a continuous LED light plus daylight through the window) between a narrow slot between two pieces of card, and then carefully angle the prism on white paper. The image was shot from above.  I discovered that the light needed to be positioned away from the card - not near it (something to do with the inverse  square law of physics) - but of course that meant the light was fainter and with the daylight getting duller and duller this was the only decent image I managed.  I used Lightroom to enhance the colours and effectively turn the paper black.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.