Richard P

By ricky_p

Pentlands

Wanted a long run today so since forecast was decent I headed to the Pentlands. There was no chance of rain but like yesterday it was fairly windy, especially on the exposed parts and summits. 

My run was 3 hours (22km) starting and finishing at Hillend following the Skyline route until Carnethy when I dropped down to the SW end of Loganlee reservoir, ascended Black Hill and carried on the Skyline route back.

I was surprised there were no patches of snow/ice but it has been very mild recently.

As expected it was very windy. This blip from another blipper also out in the Pentlands yesterday shows that sometimes running in a straight line was difficult.

I tried taking a few panaramas but Google Photos didn't judge them as part of a panarama. Since I don't want to spend time stitching them together myself I have collaged a few of the photos I took. It looks more calm than it was! The windchill meant I didn't take as many photos as I would have liked as I wanted to keep moving.

Photos descriptions starting top left and going clockwise: 
View looking North towards Turnhouse from Carnethy, 
View looking South towards Castlelaw from Allermuir, 
View looking South towards Turnhouse and Carnethy from Capelaw, 
View looking North East of Loganlee Reservoir from slope of Black Hill 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.