Monk's Rig

A windy walk in the Pentlands to blow away any vestiges of new year cobwebs. Walking, though, not running, as these hardy souls were. This was one of the places on the ascent of Monk's Rig where we'd stopped mainly because we could barely stand up in the wind. I grabbed my camera out of my bag, terrified of dropping either my camera, or my bag, or both, and snatched a couple of photos. The other people we saw coming down this hill had themselves turned round, on the grounds they couldn't manage the ascent in the wind. We persevered though, and were rewarded by some wind free walking round the other side and a really pleasant round trip of about 7kms. I've put an album on flickr.

We were pretty pooped by the time we got back to the car, but we had to take a quick trip round the supermarket before heading back here for some (late) lunch. We both closed our eyes during the course of the afternoon. In my case it was partly because they, and my face, felt sandblasted from the wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.