MonoMonday - Celebration

Today’s theme for MonoMonday is “celebration” due to the fact that today is the fifth anniversary of the challenge. This one had me stumped until I remembered Grannie’s silver spoons. This small case of a dozen silver spoons was bought as a gift to my maternal grandparents on the occasion of their silver wedding in 1961. It was a present from my great grandpa.

Unfortunately, my grandfather passed away six months later and I never met him. I do, however, remember Great Grandpa. He reached the fantastic age of ninety four before he passed away when I was nine. I remember him sitting knitting socks on four needles, for which he won a prize in the Scottish Farmer. And of course, my wonderful Grannie who died in 2001 aged ninety, whom I was particularly close to growing up.

Like Grannie, I keep these spoons in the drawer of the oak dining table that she got as a wedding present in 1936, which I inherited and cherish. And the glass of fizz? Well, it is a celebration!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.