Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Mum And I

Life Before Blip: 30 years ago


It's Christmas 1988. Mum has come over, not only to share Christmas with us but to help look after the girls while I recover from an abdominal operation. Last week I'd been in hospital in Carlisle's highest building as the fated Pan Am Flight 103 had flown over, already out of control and destined to crash in Lockerbie 25 miles away.

The hospital was in a state of alert, expecting an overflow of casualties but it was worse than anyone expected with 270 people dead. Nurses were phoning home to check on families but the phones were down. A shocking Christmas!

So here I am, having been discharged 2 days before Christmas and told not to eat too much while my gut is recovering! I may be able to eat normally when we go out for my birthday on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.