Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Pop Up Studio - Softbox + Speedlight

Day off so decided to start making a softbox and plugging in my SB600. A few stability issues but fine after some fixes.

I think the box cost me 20 quid on Amazon. No instructions and it is fiddly to assemble but great fun learning to handle and manage.

Excluding my camera and strobe the studio so far has taken less than 100 pounds to construct, (softbox, reflectors, light stands, back drop) and all are ultra portable. Portability is key because I want to work around the subject/model not the other way round.

No command mode on the D40 and the SB600 is limited, although good at what is meant to do, provide light.

Awaiting some cheap transmitter/receivers off Amazon then we should be good to go.

Apologies if I sound like I am talking in jargon. If you want to know anything just ask as I love sharing this project. I've discovered lots of things and made a few mistakes along the way too.

Have a great weekend.

Pop Up Studio is a project I am working on to deliver portraiture using (camera and strobe excepted) basic low cost and portable kit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.