Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Pop Up Studio - Off camera softbox set up

My cheap and cheerful transmitter and receivers arrived today. They were only £23 (pounds) and that included 4 receivers that enables me to hook in other speedlights.

I appreciate that Pocket Wizards are the choice of the professionals but they are also expensive, so I hack about with these ones. When I get my head around process and techniques then I can revisit the Pocket Wizards.

After some to-ing and fro-ing everything worked. It's always a great feeling when you trip a speedlight off camera.

Okay based on yesterday's starting point...

The receiver was threaded onto the bracket of the softbox, (this bracket simply sits on a lighting stand). My SB600 slides onto the built in hotshoe on the receiver, (the receiver is the bit between my SB600 and the top of light stand in the picture).

I had to do some minor adjustments. The receiver I selected is quite long. Bear that in mind if you select one as it means space on the bracket is limited. To get round this I have has to put the receiver and the SB600 side on. Workable but not ideal. Rome wasn't built in a day etc etc.

I did some test shots and suddenly the world of manual flash started to own up before me as I experimented from full power to 1/64th.

Personal view, I'd advise deselecting 'continuous frames' in your camera settings as the recycling of most speedlites won't be able to keep up.

Right, off to make the kids pizza.

Pop Up Studio is a project I am working on to deliver portraiture using (camera and strobe excepted) basic low cost and portable kit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.