The good old days

My great-aunt Emily was born in 1892 and in 1925 she married a soldier from Cornwall, a private in the Royal Army Medical Corps and also a nurse. I don’t know much about him, but he’s on the passenger list of a ship returning from Singapore in 1915.
 
At some point after their marriage, 1929 probably, they left England and went to Africa, to the Sudan where her husband had become a Sanitary Inspector in Gezira. A huge dam and irrigation system had been built there in 1925 and he was involved in malaria control.
 
I believe that Great-aunt Emily came home at the outbreak of war in 1939, but he stayed behind until at least 1944, now as a Senior Public Health Inspector. After the war they retired to Devon where he died in 1955.
 
We knew her well and stayed with her in Devon several times – she even came to stay with us in Scotland. Did I record her interesting life? Huh! Did I 'eck! I still get annoyed about this, pointless though it is. She did talk about her garden in the Sudan on one occasion and showed us some pictures, but it wasn’t until late last year that I borrowed some unmounted colour transparencies from a cousin and had them scanned. I got them back today and here are a couple of them, my rather unsuccessful attempt at a montage. One of them shows Emily under a date palm and other some of her staff, I imagine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.