Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Lucky Man

When we start on this life we have no idea on how it is going to go and who we're going to meet along the way.  So despite kidney failure I consider myself a lucky man.

Lucky to have a friend like Geoff here, Geoff is my live donor and is down in Wales for our independent assessment tomorrow.  I first knew Geoff through Twitter and a common interest in walking.  When I met Geoff and his wife Chrissie, and their dogs Pebbles and Islay, it was a great weekend.  I was made to feel at ease, and I felt as if I'd known them for years.

When Geoff said he wanted to become a live donor I was taken aback, that someone would want to do that for me was incredible.  I'm lucky in that he came forward, I'm lucky that he was a good match.  I mean what are the chances?  I say thank you to Geoff on a regular basis, but those words feel hollow as they cannot express what a life giving gift this is and what a difference it will make to my life.

There's a saying about people coming and going in your life, and I'm glad that I've had the privilege of meeting, knowing and developing friendships with some incredible people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.