Extinct treminology?

Grumble alert.
;¬)
WAY back in the mists of history, I remember hearing/reading the term "Importing/exporting(?) a drought". It seems to be a dead phrase since every attempt to locate the term ended up telling me how much water Arizona/America/any country actually exported.
The expression meant that if you water fruit/veggies and export them you are, effectively exporting water which you'll never see again; as opposed to keeping it in the country of origin. Consequently you were effectively importing a drought.
I, finally, did find this:-
"The percentage of water contained in a strawberry is between 98-99%, depending on the genus of the strawberry. "
And NO it is NOT spelt "genous", so I corrected it after pasting; unless it is in USA, who do tend to spell rather oddly.
;¬)
So - effectively, Morocco has exported about 590gm of water and 10gm of dry matter.
I can not, honestly, say the theory is valid, but I like my strawberries in season anyway; elsewise they cease to be a luxury; however delightful they look.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
While I'm in full grumble mode - I don't think it really is a LUGSHURRY, in spite of the frequent pronunciation as such.

"Or a meringue?"

;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.