A timely blipmeet with Enzo

I arranged to meet a fellow blipper today in Stroud. Enzo told me he was attending the Book Exhibition in Stroud that Helena has contributed to, called 'The book - a celebration; including My Ten Favourite Books', as selected and exhibited by fifty local people.

I have mentioned it in my last two blips, and today is no exception. Part of the exhibition offers a daily hour long lunchtime talk given by a range of invited authors, publishers, illustrators and historians. Today was when Miriam Macgregor would be talking about her engraving work with and for the Whittington Press, whose owner John Randle also talked about their continuing work over the last forty years. Dennis Gould, the main organiser of this exhibition, has been a friend, contributor as well as letterpress printing and publishing himself for a similar length of time. The exhibition has some of Miriam's engravings for the Press on framed on stands.

The exhibition had just enough room for the fifty people who sat rapt as they heard about the work, whilst being shown some of Miriam's unique sketch books, with drawings and water colours as well as some of the finished books. It was fascinating to hear these two good friends talk about working together en route to printing such wonderful publications. Do look at some some of their work on their website here, and admire their craft and artistry.

Enzo introduced himself to me before the talk, and we had time to go next door to have a coffee and to introduce ourselves and tell a bit of our stories. We didn't have long and I know in due course I will go to meet him near his home on the Gloucestershire - Herefordshire borders.

When we returned to the exhibition the guest speakers had arrived and Enzo kindly introduced me to John Randle, who started the Whittington Press and who is his brother. They both said I could take their pictures, which I tried to do when standing at the back of the Old Town Hall. I couldn't move around at all, being surrounded by seated listeners, but managed a few pictures. I have added a couple of images to my Blipfolio of John Randle and Miriam Macgregor as they talked and showed the audience some of their work - her engraving and sketches, and his printing. You can see the book Enzo is looking at.

John handed around one of Miriam's large sketch books and started by giving it here to Enzo, his brother, who you can see admiring it. I liked the way others are trying to look at it too. It didn't get around the room as far as me, unfortunately, but we can all get an idea of how fine they are even in the poor light of the pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.