A change of plans

I think two days of concentrated cleaning wore me out, as I woke up late this morning feeling really tired and daunted by the prospect of finding places for all of the closet things that now lay all over my counters.  So I decided to go out, and this was my plan: go down to the Goodwill truck in the Northgate Mall parking lot, deposit a check at my bank across the street from the mall, and head to Safeway to buy lots more vegetables.

That plan went awry very quickly.  Heading for the mall, I discovered that the traffic light at the intersection of Northgate Way and 5th Avenue was not working, and there was a long backup on both heavily traveled streets.  When I finally got through, I left my things with Goodwill and tried to figure out how to get away from Northgate.  Rather than dealing with that intersection again, I headed south and figured I would find a street that would take me west to the other side of the mall.  But they are building a light rail station on that side of the mall, and there was no way to get through.

So I had to keep driving south, trying to find a cross street that would let me head north again.  I had to give up on the bank and Safeway too.  I made it to QFC, where I found these beautiful primroses, and did my shopping there, passing up the vegetables.  Now I have to do it all over tomorrow!  To be safe, i'll go to the only other branch of my bank, 55 blocks north of here, and find another Safeway to use my vouchers.

I received an Email from NOW informing me that today is Religious Freedom Day.  It's so insignificant that no one has ever heard of it, nor did anything occur that would mark the day.  It's ironic to think we should celebrate at a time when religious freedom is very much on the wane, and religious orthodoxy becoming the law of the land.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.