It’s a lovely sunny day and I like watching the waves and birds but last night it was very cold with ice on the puddles and the wind was blowing me around. Now I really want to go home and snuggle up with my little friend in her cosy cot but I think she doesn’t know where I am.  It makes me very sad to think she might be crying for me.  Maybe her mum might find me again but if not, perhaps someone else might take me home if I’m still here tomorrow. 

(Extra) Apart from this unusual sight there were many strange jelly like blobs littering Ravensheugh beach.  Mostly they were about two centimetres big and looked like transparent balls of jelly with a tiny ‘mouth’ and ribs with sort of comb-like structure with rows of tiny hairs on their edge.  These little creatures are called Sea gooseberries (Pleurobrachia pileus) and use the hairs to help them swim.  At night time they often appear phosphorescent in the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.