Take only photographs, leave only footprints

New visitor facilities called The Lookout opened at the end of last year at the Holkham Natural Nature Reserve. Holkham beach is a natural and beautiful beach, but lacked somewhere to get a cuppa and nip to the loo, so the new facilities are most welcome. The photo of the geese was taken just outside the Lookout and is a very typical Norfolk scene at this time of year. 

G, H and I walked from The Lookout out across Holkham beach and round to Wells beach where we stopped for tea and cake (or a bacon bap in my case). There were lots of birders when we set off looking at the visiting Northern Larks (aka shore larks). Although I could see one in the distance, I only had my lens going up to 135mm so couldn't get a photo. However further round I asked more birders if they'd seen anything and they told us about snow buntings behind the nearby dunes. I took a photo which I've added as an extra - I hope they are the bird they said. The tide was lower at Wells beach than I'd ever seen and I've added a photo in extras of a buoy chain that I quite liked - I was unsure over this and the geese as to what to choose as my main photo.

A delightful walk of about 5.5 miles, and not windy which is always a relief on the North Norfolk coast in Winter! The title above is from an information board at The Lookout. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.