Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

False Reflections

I look in the mirror
What on earth do I see
Who is this stranger
Looking back at me
Is he a friend
A companion of old
Or is he a stranger
Distant and cold
I've known him for ever
For all of my life
He was there on the day
I first met my wife
He was there at the alter
Stood between us two
He stood with me
And like me, said I do
He smiled as our son
Gave his first laugh
And cradled his head
When he had his first bath
He laughed with joy
While stood at my wife's side
And looked at our daughers
With chests full of pride
Through each tribulation
He was always there
Both through the good times
And those filled with despair
Well I guess he's been there
Since I was less than a kid
And no matter what now
I'm not going to be rid
No matter he's overweight
And I'm still so slim
He's pushing on ancient
And, well, I'm younger than him
The mirror it's said
Is something that never lies
So I guess what I see
Is me in disguise
I have to accept
That the stranger is myself
So a glass I raise and say
This is mine, get one yourself!!!


Terry Rhiannyr (Terry Reader)
December 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.