Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Christmas Concert Preparations

Anuk's Advent Calendar Challenge Day 7 - Christmas Carol

This week I have been preparing for my choir's Christmas Concert on Sunday.

We've had the luxury of 5 rehearsals for this year's concert - normally we manage on 3 or 4 - so the music is learnt and we may even manage "We wish..." without the book!

The next job on the list is preparing the Audience Carol Sheets. Traditionally we get the audience to join us in some well known carols, including Good King Wenceslas when our Music Director judges who are the best singers between the male voices, as the King, and the female voices as his page. Strangely, every year it's a draw!

Finally the programme: a job I volunteered for more years ago than I want to remember, but is actually very satisfying. I believe that researching the composers and their music for the programme notes has also enriched my musical knowledge.

And so it's done. Roll on Sunday and hope it's a good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.