Faux pau

I sneezed in the office, which was met with 'santinhos' (little saints). Then I was asked whether I was a Christian, and I lied and said yes, but non-practising. It's a standard response I've made in many places where the concept of atheism is almost completely alien.

Very much like divulging other facts that would be seen as fairly radical, depending where I am when asked, I decided to avoid being seen as a heathen just yet. I get the feeling urban Mozambique is much less devout than other parts of the continent, but nevertheless I'd be viewed as lacking a moral compass if I voiced the truth that I am irreligious.

During my Portuguese lesson, I learnt the importance of correct pronunciation. Pão is bread and is said nasally. Pau is a stick but also, in Brazilian Portuguese, slang for a particular part of the male anatomy. You do not want to go into the bakery and mispronounce the order as 'pau grande' as it could lead to all sorts of consternation.

There's a Wikipedia page outlining the words used as sneeze responses in dozens of languages. Wikipedia is formidable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.