atoll

By atoll

Kosher Pork Mystery

Friend Noah was talking this week about his occasional cravings for Jewish food and resulting visits to J A Hyman's delicatessen in Manchester, fondly known as Titanic. The reason for this is it seems founding owner Joseph Hyman survived the ship's sinking by ending up in a Lifeboat even though being one of the last to jump ship. He never did make it to the USA though, but spent the rest of his life on Cheetham Hill.

I promised I would seek it out before Christmas, but also told Noah of a great Jewish bakery that I remembered used to exist in Hale Barns, near to where I once worked. It is not there now, but I told him of another shop from the same chain still in Alderley Edge called G Wienholt Pastrycook.

Not quite the drama of Joseph Hyman, but I read afterwards on the website that George Wienholt arrived in England after WWII from Switzerland after learning the art of confectionary there. This shop opened in 1950.

As fate would have it, I had a meeting in Alderley Edge today so decided to pay Wienholt's a visit. This is a picture of the front shop display, and what a selection they have. Only problem is, I am now a bit concerned about the accuracy of my intelligence. The name certainly sounds traditionally Kosher, but as I bought a nice pork pie there for lunch today, I have either got something badly wrong or something has clearly changed radically.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.